My Nutrition Journey: 8 weeks

Written by: Elise Matthews

“Failure to commit is the high cost of low living” – James Baker

Most people would think, “Oh, you own a gym, you eat right and exercise all the time…”. Not true.

Let’s go back to the end of 2016…  I had completed the Murph challenge mid November but had failed to set any action steps for myself following that.  So with that and Tat and the kids moving away, I just kind of fell in to this cycle where I was letting work distract me from a long distance relationship with my family.  This also had the side effect of letting work pull me away from regular exercise.  Once that happened, it was all to easy to slack off on good eating.  I was in a slump.  You can see in the pic below, I had an activity goal of 500 Kcal per day and I was only hitting it 3-4 times per week.

FullSizeRender

Late February I completed the Precision Nutrition certification I’d been working on for several months.  (Ironic, right?)  Most people who know me know that I never recommend my clients to do things without trying them myself first.  So I decided that would put myself through the nutrition program. I decided that I was going to commit to this program 100%, and what that meant for me was:

  • I committed to forget all of my normal thoughts about what worked best for me nutritionally
  • I committed to ignoring all of my normal tendencies to try to do it all right off the bat (this program really doesn’t let you do that…)
  • I committed to read each daily lesson
  • I committed do the habit that was asked of me to the best of my ability daily.
  • I committed to do this for a year

Here’s what I’ve learned so far:

  1. Diving in head first and trying to make tons of changes all at the same time isn’t sustainable. Most challenges that we have done at KORE last 30 days, and that’s as long as most people can sustain those changes before going back to the same old habits.  Me included.   This program starts slow.  Painfully slow, but at 8-weeks I feel like I’m picking up speed, not looking for an out.
  2. Meal planning, prep, subbing healthy foods, and restricting unhealthy food are all things necessary to make changes but they aren’t the most important things to focus on first.
  3. Focusing on one thing at a time is an amazing change to my normal tendencies, and DOABLE! I’m trying to apply this principle to other aspects of my life.
  4. I LOVE my daily lesson, they are my time to focus on myself and they help me to keep the habit I’m focusing on in the forefront of my mind.
  5. I am astounded at how the little things have made such a big impact. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been surprised to see that I’m the last one at the table still eating (that used to NEVER happen).
  6. I have found that committing to this one thing has had an exponential impact on my wellness. I’m now back to exercising or doing recovery 7 days a week and it’s not a struggle. Oddly, I am getting to know myself better, and my outlook has completely changed since this winter.  Sure, I expect for there to be some bumps along the way, but I’m all in now so those obstacles will be overcome.

The nutrition program is excellent so far, but ultimately I think it was my commitment to do something for myself that has ultimately made all the difference.  If you’re interested in doing the ProCoach, I’ll be happy to talk to you but I will say that you should be ready to go all. Be ready to make the commitment to yourself to be the best student of yourself.  Because ultimately that is what this journey is about, learning to listen to and understand yourself better.

Want to experience a mini-version of ProCoach?  Check out our 30 Day Recommit to your resolutions Challenge starting June 1stClick here to find out more

Leave a comment

May 8, 2017 · 7:59 am

Leave a Reply

